Conversations with a 2.5 year old

20160715_201504 (2)

Saturday night fever. No, not the Calpol sort.

Her: Mummy! The airplane has come back to the airplane station!

Me: Excuse me?

Her: The airplane is at the airplane station now. We can go to Mim’s house, flying!

Me: The aeroplane has come back to the airport.

Her: What’s a nairport?

Me: It’s where the aeroplanes live.

Her: Like a nairplane station?

Me: An aeroplane station is actually called an airport.

Her. Why?

Me: Because that is the name it was given.

Her: Why?

Me: Ummm… maybe because it is shorter than aeroplane station, I’m not sure. So anyway, where did you say you wanted to go?

Her: To the airplane station and fly to Mim’s house!

Me: …

Me: Maya, would you like an ice-cream or an ice lolly?

Her: Ummm… a lolly, please Mummy.

Me: Ok, let’s go to the…

Her: And when I finished my lolly, I want a ice-cream.

Me: No, Sweety. The choice is ice-cream OR an ice lolly, not both.

Her: Ok, Mummy. I have a lolly.

Me: Right…

Her: And a ice-cream.

Me: …

Me: Who switched on all the lights?

Her: I.

Me: Me.

Her: No, not you, me!

Me: …

Her: Ow!

Me: What’s wrong? Why did you say ow?

Her: I say ow why I hurt myself.

Me: Because.

Her: What’s because?

Me: When you ask, you use why, and when you answer, you use because.

Her: Why?

Me: Because they are two different words.

Her: Ok, Mummy.

Me: So why did you say ow?

Her: I say ow because why I hurt myself.

Me: …

20160518_152245

Insouciance toddlerfied.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Conversations with a 2.5 year old”

  1. Helen Devries Says:

    Nice how they have so much patience with adults, isn’t it…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anja Says:

    Haha, we all had those conversations, brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

